Home > general update > First sail

First sail


Went for my first sail in Stonehaven bay in an offshore force 5 dropping eventually to a force three.  Managed three capsizes sailng on a run trying to leave the  harbour- vicious gusts from all the over place that just slammed me in. Mast may have foam in it, but if you try and directly climb onto it when it is on its side it turtles. I found it easy to right apart from the fact that the grab-line is miles away!! I am thinking of running grab-line elastic around transom, ala RS Feva, where it would be easier to grab. Once up it was easy to climb in by grabing kicker/cunningham control lines and sliding over wing. If you tried to climb in right at the front it would tack and capsize on you, however, if you slid over the middle then it  stayed “hove too”- a trick reminiscent of waterstarting a windsurfer.

Prior to going out I had a few fun moments rigging. Main irritiation was outhaul disappearing down boom- pretty stupid design feature- think I will leave end permanently tied in place with an additional block that can be shackled onto clew itself. I also enjoyed taking boom off mast loads of times as lines slipped…..I am sure thats just lack of familiarity with rigging. It was easy to preload vang and this worked really well on water. Tying cunningham onto boom was very fiddly and on the water there was not enough purchase or travel. Any advice much appreciated.

Main issue, however, were spinnaker sheets. Mine are 8.5m in total length (4.25 each side) With them tied together leeward sheet prevented windward sheet being let out enough to get luff to curl properly.  Am I missing something here or are my sheets too short?

Having said all that I had a great sail. There are some good blaze sailors and I think going upwind will be similar- go for speed, I wonder if we will be able to “plane” upwind as the good Blaze sailors can. There are also a large number of musto skiffs of varying standards and downwind when the 100 started to go I was definitely going at similar speed to some of them. I’m really looking forward to sailing the RS100. Any more word of an event in Scotland in the autumn, or has it all gone quiet on that front?

Categories: general update
  1. Donaldm141
    24/08/2010 at 9:00 pm

    Still on for the event in Scotland.

    • Martin LSC
      24/08/2010 at 10:46 pm

      Likewise – would like to do Scottish sychonized RS100 capsize event! However I offerred to help in arrangments and spoke to James he was up for it but little or no response from this or Y&Y site. I can get some prizes (Ronstan, Spinlock etc) together. I did post a request for numbers who are interested and the site went quiet on that thread.

      Who is up for a training day plus national event day – four qickfire races or whatever.

      Martin

  2. Keith Cuthbert
    25/08/2010 at 7:30 am

    Hey Joe 90 great news theres another boat in Scotland.
    With regards the Musto’s I also race against some really good MPS’s at Dalgety and once they are wiring they are off especially uphill so its a case of if I can get within the 7 or so minutes for the typical race time.
    I have not heard anything from James about a Scottish event at Loch Earn yet but if there is one I would be keen to attend.
    You are all very welcome to come and have a race at Dalgety anytime with windward/leeward courses…..
    Cheers,
    Keith.

  3. 13/03/2017 at 3:53 pm

    Hi mates, how is all, and what you wish for to say about this article, in my view its actually remarkable for me.

  4. 31/03/2017 at 7:23 pm

    Very quickly this site will be famous amid all blogging and site-building users, due to it’s pleasant content

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

